Recollection

I remember…

 

I often forget where I put my stuff,

I often forget memorable places,

I often forget what I am to do,

And I always forget people’s faces.

 

It might be that I try to leave

Memories far behind,

Or that I simply don’t see

What I’m not looking to find.

 

If I happen to recognize

You while walking down the street,

Please don’t be offended when

I’m staring at my feet.

 

It’s not that I don’t know who you are,

Or even that I don’t care.

It’s that the past is a long lost scent,

While the future holds clean air.

 

But there was once a passing look

That I actually gazed into the eyes,

And caught a glimpse of what I had missed,

And what I had feared and despised.

 

And ever since that parting glance,

I’ve remembered your face very clear.

And while other faces fall far, far away,

Yours always stays very near.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/writing-challenge-remember/

One thought on “Recollection

Leave a Reply

